Modal your crash

Most have experienced that DC++ has crashed at some point and a dialog box pops up. If you haven’t, I’m happy for you.

Anyway, the dialog box says; “DC++ just encountered a fatal bug and should have written an exceptioninfo.txt the same directory as the executable. You can upload this file at http://dcplusplus.sf.net/crash/ to help us find out what happened (please do not report this bug in the bug tracker unless you know the exact steps to reproduce it…). Go there now?” and then a yes/no button.

This dialog box is modal, which means that you can’t interact with any other part of DC++ when this is displayed. The only way you can interact with DC++ again is to press yes or no (preferably yes) and restart DC++.

The dialog box weren’t always modal though. It got modal in DC++ 0.4032 (if I can trust the changelog).

What are the reasons the box went modal? When DC++ crashes, there’s nothing that ‘restarts’ the parts that crashed. Running a crashed program should always be terminated because it’s such a greater chance that (more) information will be lost.

I recall a day when DC++ crashed (this was when the modality didn’t exist), and I just moved the dialog box out of the screen so I wouldn’t see it. A few minutes later, DC++ crashed again. I moved the dialog box yet again. About 30 seconds later, DC++ crashed again. This time, I figured there must be something wrong and that I should restart DC++. I was quite unhappy that DC++ had crashed because I had several rare downloads going on. Most of them soon to be completed. Oh, well. I closed DC++ and restarted. To my amazement, all of the temporary downloads were lost, my logs had been corruped and the exceptionsinfo.txt had grown to 3 MB during this little escapade. Fortunately, the users were still online and I could download my files, the logs were just a few days old and a 3 MB text file wasn’t very space consuming.

Nevertheless, I bet you can understand why I liked the descision to make the dialog box modal. If it had been like that from the beginning, I wouldn’t have lost my downloads and my logs wouldn’t be corruped.

Leave a Reply

