Reconnect

Reconnect. Ctrl+R. Connect again to the hub.

There are two different types of reconnects. A manual and an automagic.

The manual, is triggered when you press Ctrl+R or the little “right arrow icon” (in lack of better wording). Doing this, will force DC++ to directly reconnect to the hub.

An automatic reconnect is performed every 2-3 minutes. It is done to be random because the hub could be stressed extremely if a few thousand people try to connect at the exact same time. DC++ will continue to try to recconect with one exception: if DC++ recieve ‘banned’ (when trying to enter the hub), automagic reconnect is immediately turned off for the hub in question.

There’s one situation where you may see or experience inconsistency. If you have unticked ‘Automatically follow redirects’ (Settings -> Advanced), and someone redirects you to another hub (which you don’t follow to), pressing Ctrl+R (or just seeing an automagic reconnect) will not reconnect to the hub you’ve been redirected to but DC++ will try and reconnect to the original hub.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: