Away… No! Back!

“/away” must be one of the most frequent features I use when I use DC++. With it, I can set my away status to the standard message (“I’m away. State your business and I might answer later if you’re lucky.”) and if I’m doing anything in particular, I can specify it.

Typing “/away” again (while being in away mode that is) will disable the away mode. If you’ve read the help file (you should!) or type “/help”, you will see “/back”. This does basically the same thing if you’re in away mode. They both disable the away mode.

What is the preferred feature to use then? Well, I normally just do “/away” because I can simply do Ctrl+Up and then Enter. Rather than having to type “/back”.
But everything has a cost. In computer world, this cost is measured in amount of time it takes to perform an action. Milli seconds or even micro seconds to be exact. When using “/back” you will actually use less CPU cycles (thus less time performing the action).

Why does “/back” use less CPU cycles than “/away”? Because the latter have to first check if away mode is already on or not. If not, it will also have to un-set a ‘manual’ away check.

If you aren’t that computer savvy, this is actually virtually no difference. But it’s quite interesting to see that if you’d run some external software to check amount of CPU cycles DC++ uses, you would see a difference when you used “/back” or “/away”.

Leave a Reply

